Order_of_the_Arrow_Distinguished_Service_AwardThe Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to Arrowmen, youth and adult, who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented at National Order of the Arrow Conferences. Since the time the first awards were presented, just over 1000 Distinguished Service Awards have been awarded.

The award is a sterling silver arrowhead bearing an arrow pointing up and to the wearer’s right. The award is suspended from a white neck-ribbon on which red arrows are embroidered. A white square knot embroidered on red cloth is available for uniform wear and a silver arrowhead lapel pin is available for civilian wear.


DSA Recipients from Virginia-based Lodges

Award YearName & LodgeCity, State
2020John A. Gasink - 3
Anthony T. Peluso - 349
Richmond, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
2018Anthony J. "AJ" Kelly - 349
Michael F. White - 258
Virginia Beach, VA
Charlottesville, VA
2015Taylor Bobrow - 349
Noel Falcon - 349
Preston Marquis - 349
Chesapeake, VA
Elizabeth City, NC
Norfolk, VA
2012William Gentry Swingle - 3
John E. Thomas, Jr. - 3
Ashland, VA
Arlington, VA
2006Bradley David Long - 161Pulaski, VA
1998Richards M. Miller - 258Waynesboro, VA
1996William Scott Smith - 161Lynchburg, VA
1990Donald W. "Si" Simons - 349Virginia Beach, VA
1988Mack T. Ruffin, III - 3
Oscar M. Thompson - 3
Richmond, VA
Richmond, VA
1986James J. Terry - 3Richmond, VA
1983Philip Shaw "Ted" Costin - 3Richmond, VA
1977Bruce A. Sanders - 349Norfolk, VA
1975Robert B. Alvis - 3Glen Allen, VA
1971George D. Carr - 161Roanoke, VA
1969Peter J. Osina - 258Charlottesville, VA
1965Ray A. Garrabrandt - 276Winchester, VA